The law requires any person who believes that a child is being abused, neglected, or exploited to report the circumstances to the Department of Family and Protective Services or local law enforcement agency. (The Texas Family Code 261.101 requires professionals to make a report within 48 hours of first suspecting abuse, neglect or exploitation of children.)

A person making a report is immune from civil or criminal liability provided they make the report in good faith, and the name of the person making the report is kept confidential. Any person suspecting abuse and not reporting it can be held liable for a misdemeanor or state jail felony. Time frames for investigating reports are based on severity of allegations. Reporting suspected child abuse makes it possible for a family to get help.

The Texas Family Code 261.101 requires professionals to make a report within 48 hours of first suspecting abuse, neglect or exploitation of children.


1-800-252-5400
Call the Abuse Hotline toll-free 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, nationwide

OR

www.txabusehotline.org
Make your report through a secure web site and you will receive a response within 24 hours

The Department of Family and Protective Services cannot accept e-mail reports of suspected abuse or neglect.


What if my report is an emergency?

Call 911 or your local law enforcement agency if the situation is an emergency.[/styledbox]

When should I call the abuse hotline rather than use this web site?

Reports made through this web site take up to 24 hours to process. Call the Texas Abuse Hotline at 1-800-252-5400 if

  • You believe your situation requires action in less than 24 hours.
  • You prefer to remain anonymous.
  • You have insufficient data to complete the required information on the report.
  • You do not want an e-mail to confirm your report.

Deaf or hard of hearing

If there is an emergency and you are deaf and equipped with a Teletypewriter (TTY), call Relay Texas by dialing 711 or 1-800-735-2989. Tell the relay agent you need to call the Texas Abuse Hotline at 1-800-252-5400.

Important resources

The Department of Family & Protective Services
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/contact_us/report_abuse.asp

Texas Department of Public Safety – Sex Offender Registry
https://records.txdps.state.tx.us/DPS_WEB/SorNew/index.aspx

National Center for Mission & Exploited Children
http://www.missingkids.com/missingkids/servlet/PublicHomeServlet?LanguageCountry=en_US

Federal Bureau of Investigation, Cyber Division
http://www.fbi.gov/publications/pguide/pguidee.htm

Children’s Advocacy Centers of Texas, Inc.
http://www.cactx.org/

Women’s Center of Brazoria County
www.womenscenterbrazoriacounty.com

Resource & Crisis Center of Galveston County
www.rccgc.org

Houston Area Women’s Center
www.hawc.org

United Way of Brazoria County
www.uwbc.org

Brazoria County Judicial Records Search
http://records.brazoria-county.com

Office of Attorney General of Texas
http://www.oag.state.tx.us

Texas Counsel on Family Violence
http://www.tcfv.org

Child Trauma Academy
www.childtrauma.org

Reporting Child Abuse

Being a child shouldn’t have to hurt!